Skip to main content

University of South Alabama, McCall Library

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: University of South Alabama, McCall Library

  • Description: is
(127 results)



Display: 20

    • Finley Softball Team

    • n.d.
    • The Finley (Pharmacy) softball team in the 1960s, the apparent winners of that year's trophy. At left in the front row is James Bivens. The man in the center holding the trophy is John L. Finley Jr., and the man at the far right in the front row is...
    • Oakleigh,

    • 1895
    • James Roper, an antebellum cotton factor in Mobile, Alabama, built this Greek Revival mansion known as Oakleigh in 1833. It is now located in what is known as the Oakleigh Historic District and is owned by the city and operated as a period museum.
    • Government Street

    • n.d.
    • Looking west up Government Street from Royal in the 1940s. On the far left one can see the Rudolph Benz courthouse. The building behind the hardware store sign is the Admiral Semmes Hotel. The LaClede Hotel is on the the middle-right of the image,...
    • Overbey Family,

    • 1935
    • Erik Overbey and family. His wife, Ida, is seated on the left stoop. Son Per sits on the top step on the far left, next to his brother. Overbey's daughter, with whom he would live after his retirement, is on the far left on the bottom step. This...
    • Arlington Fairgrounds

    • n.d.
    • The Magnolia House at Arlington Fairgrounds about 1900. Located just south of the city, the fairgrounds was the site for an annual agricultural show, held since 1873, that grew to include horse races, automobile displays, and art exhibits. The fair...
    • Cochrane Bridge

    • 1925
    • This 1925 window display at Merchants National Bank was meant to entice Mobilians into purchasing some of the $25 million in mortgage bonds that went to construct the Cochrane Bridge. The sign in the window reads, "Let's build the bridge NOW!...
    • Government Street

    • 1904
    • Government Street, Mobile, Alabama, looking east toward the river. The Benz courthouse is on the left. It was Mobile's fourth courthouse and stood from 1889 to 1957. Its ornate statuary would fall victim to the hurricanes that periodically visit...
    • Hartwell, Harry T.

    • n.d.
    • The man in the center of this photograph is Harry T. Hartwell. He served four terms as mayor of Mobile, Alabama, and was instrumental in getting a new baseball park established after Monroe Park was destroyed in the hurricane of 1926. The new park...
    • Spanish Plaza,

    • n.d.
    • Spanish (or Malaga) Plaza is dedicated to the city of Malaga, Spain, sister city to Mobile. The city sets aside each March 21 as "Malaga Day." Spain ruled this area for thirty-three years (1780-1813). The plaza is located on Government Street...
    • Mardi Gras Float

    • n.d.
    • John Gus Hines (b. 1844) designed and built Mardi Gras floats for several Mobile mystic societies. This is Hines' rendition of a World War I memorial. It is unclear whether this ever appeared in a Mardi Gras parade.
    • Mardi Gras Float

    • n.d.
    • John Gus Hines (b. 1844) designed and built Mardi Gras floats for several Mobile mystic societies. This is one of a series of drawings Hines created in what he called "Woman's Theme." This one is titled "Why Men Don't Marry." It depicts two women...
    • Mardi Gras Float

    • 1920
    • John Gus Hines (b. 1844) designed and built Mardi Gras floats for several Mobile mystic societies. This is one of the last Mardi Gras float drawings that Hines created. It was designed for the Knights of Revelry and the theme for the parade was...
    • Mardi Gras Float

    • n.d.
    • John Gus Hines (b. 1844) designed and built Mardi Gras floats for several Mobile mystic societies. This is one drawing in the parade theme "Time." It shows children playing baseball, on a see saw, and hanging from a high bar. The drawing is titled...
    • Convent of the Visitation

    • n.d.
    • The exterior of the Chapel of the Sacred Heart on the grounds of the Convent of the Visitation. The convent is also often called the Visitation Monastery. The convent was founded as a private school in 1833 by Bishop Michael Portier. The chapel was...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK